Put ’11 in the Books, and Embrace the Changes to Come!

I just finished my last workout of 2011!

I usually take Saturdays off, but since it’s the last day of the year I figured why not one more as the sun sets on another year?!

I warmed up with 20 minutes on the elliptical.

Then I did three sets on the bench (adding leg lifts with a 10-lb plate in between).

Next: Lift clean and jerk (three sets), upright rows (same), three rounds of boxing (100 alternating punches with a partner), kneeling crunches, wood-choppers, and finally a set of rotational core moves with resistance bands.

It all took a little under two hours.

It was a nice way to end the year.

Today is a day when many of us reflect on the changes in our lives since the start of the year. For me, it has indeed been a year of major change.

Last year at this time, I was still the Editor-in-Chief of Men’s Fitness, and thinking that I’d remain there for the foreseeable future. But I didn’t see the meeting  that came in mid-February telling me I was job eliminated. Gone. Done.

If you’ve read me for a while you know I don’t dwell on the negative things that happen to us all. Just like a physical injury, I accept the pain and get on with the treatment and the recovery.

Ten months later, I’ve launched a new venture–Fit! Life! Win!, of course–that includes this blog and working with companies and their corporate wellness programs; and I am excited about its prospects.

I’m also pursuing some exciting new opportunities that have recently presented themselves and an eager to see where they might lead.

My kids continue to grow and mature, and we have a new dog!

The one thing that has remained consistent is my passion for fitness.

Yes, I’m a year older and staring at 56 years old soon! But I’m thrilled with being able to still challenge myself (sound familiar?) in the gym and participate in a few outdoor sports.

Next, year, I want to do more. I want to embrace change–even chase it!

Where will you be a year from now? And what will you do to ensure that when you get there–God Willing–you’ll still be in shape to handle it?

Challenge yourself–and may we all have a happy, healthy and prosperous ’12!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

