A New 8-Hour Sleep Strategy–One that Might Actually Work!

Tomorrow is one of my favorite days of the year. No, it’s not my birthday. (The would be the favorite!) Nor is it Christmas nor the first day of “golf spring”–the first day after winter when it’s finally warm enough to tee it up!

It’s get-an-extra-hour’s sleep day!

At 2 a.m., the “clock” will turn back an hour, ending Daylight Savings Time and giving us an extra hour of sleep.

I can use it. I’m one of those stubborn guys who doesn’t get enough sleep. Eight hours? Please. Not sure I could sleep eight hours if I had eight hours to sleep.

If you following my training habits you know I get up each weekday morning at 5:15 a.m. and head to the gym. Each night, I’m usually down for the count no earlier than 11:30 p.m. So on “good” nights, I’m getting six hours of sleep.

On bad nights–like when I get caught up in some television show, or use the wee hours to meet a writing deadline–I get as few as four hours sleep.

Bad, Roy!

Getting adequate sleep is essential for myriad reasons–not the least of which is that a good, long, deep sleep just feels good. Nothing better than waking up feeling truly rested, not still exhausted.

Sleep helps the body revive itself, allowing us to maintain all those chemicals that aid our immune system.

It also allows us to digest our food better.

And it helps us deal with stress.

In preparing for this post, I ran across an article from LifeHack.org, which calls itself “your daily digest on productivity and life improvements.” It suggested positioning the eight-hour sleep ideal as an overall “fitness” ideal–meaning get since sleep is part of staying fit, use it as such by getting at least eight hours of sleep and exercise each day.

I like that strategy–largely because it doesn’t make me seem so recalcitrant about my own sleep habits. I generally workout 75-90 minutes so during the week I’m actually coming close to that eight-hour ideal.

Try it yourself, and let’s all see if we can start getting a good night;s sleep.

Beyond tomorrow!

Challenge Yourself!

 

One thought on “A New 8-Hour Sleep Strategy–One that Might Actually Work!

Leave a Reply

