Burn (Fat) Baby, Burn!

If you’ve followed my blog for a bit to know I’m an early-bird workout guy, and you know I love my Cardio Fridays when I do Carmen’s hell-spin class.

Other days of the week I start my workout the goal of burning 175 calories on either a stationary bike or elliptical machine. And I want to do it in well under 20 minutes.

My secret: The Sprint 8 Workout.

I had the pleasure of being introduced to it a couple of years ago by its creator, veteran trainer Phil Campbell.

Sprint 8 consists simply of 8 :30 sprints of progressively difficult intensity (you can do it on any cardio machine, swimming or on an outdoor track or area with room for you to sprint). Each sprint is followed by 1:30 to 2:00 minutes of active recovery.

For instance, if I’m on a stationary bike, I take it to level 8 or 9 and stay there for 2 minutes 30 seconds of warmup, then I amp the bike to level 12 and spring as hard as I can for 30 seconds.

I then go back to level 8 or 9 for 1:30, followed by another 30-second strong, this time at level 13.

I do 8 sprints in all, with the active recovery in between.

At the end, I’m spent, often barely able to finish the last sprint. But I know that in just 18 minutes I’ve burned enough fat to reach the Biggest Loser finals and after hydration and recovery, I’m ready for the weight-training portion of my workout.

Campbell diligently explained to me the science behind the workout, which essentially builds major muscle endurance and can naturally raise your levels of fat-burning, human-growth hormone (HGH) by pushing the body hard during the 30-second high-intensity periods of anaerobic exercise.

The effect is slowing the aging process and, as I mentioned, increasing muscle endurance.

If you really want to burn calories (and not be one of those people at the gym who stays on a machine for an hour but at such a slow steady pace you wonder why they’re even there; of if they know they’re at a gym!), try the Sprint 8.

Try it three times a week for a month. You’ll be amazed at the results.

Challenge yourself!

A news story featuring Phil:

Leave a Reply

