My Power Pull-Up Set

The simple move may call up memories (no, nightmares) of summer-camp torturing by some maniacal counselor. “Come on, can’t you to one pullup, Fatty?!”

I wonder where that jerk, I mean guy , is now. I really wonder whether he could manage even one set of the rigorous shoulder/bicep/back regiment I do each week that consists of pull ups, chin ups and dips.

Pull ups (and their kindred variations) are the ultimate body-weight moves. It’s just you and, well, you, working against gravity to build those shoulders, biceps and that upper back.

Before you try this, make sure you’ve got the technique down. Just as with any move, the right technique prevents injury and ensures maximum gains.

I use the Assisted Pull-Up Machine at my gym, decreasing the level of assistance. (Here’s a video showing you how to use it properly.)

Do exercises as a circuit, doing one set of each, then resting one minute before repeating. (Actually, I do a set of Swiss Ball crunches in between. Don’t hate!). Start with a weight that still makes the moves challenging, then decrease the level of assistance (and number of reps) with each set.

Here you go:

Pull ups (palms facing away from you): 12 in first set, then 10, 8

Chin Ups (palms facing you): 12, 10. 8

Dips (with bars flipped inward, if they move): 12, 10, 8

I know it looks simple. Try it, then let me know.

Here’s another pull up workout variation from military.com trainer Stew Smith.

And if you’re like me as a kid and can hardly do one or two pull ups, here’s a good way to start.

Challenge yourself!

 

 

Leave a Reply

